top of page
Several Open Books


Lance Ringel’s debut novel, the critically acclaimed Flower of Iowa, is a sprawling tale of battle and romance set in the First World War. The book centers on two young soldiers, one American and one English, who find themselves falling in love even as they are serving on the Western Front in 1918. Meticulously researched, Flower of Iowa is a grand epic that showcases courage, the resilience of the human spirit, and the transformative power of human love.



Ringel’s latest novel, Floridian Nights, focuses on a very different time, the summer and fall of 1988, and is set in New York City and Florida. The book focuses on a young gay widower who is still paralyzed by the grief of losing the love of his life three years earlier in a sudden, terrible way. Abruptly and unexpectedly, he encounters the possibility of a new start, in the form of a man 13 years his junior. Their story, by turns tragic and comic, unfolds against the background of the AIDS epidemic.

Floridian Nights
A Novel

In 1988 NYC and Florida, a young gay widower confronts the twin challenges of overcoming his paralyzing grief while navigating an incipient romance with a man 13 years his junior.

2022 Lambda Literary Award Finalist (Gay Romance) 

2021 Foreword INDIES Finalist (Romance)

FN 3dhardcover.png

Flower of Iowa

A Novel

Foreword INDIES Book of the Year Gold Award Winner (War & Military Fiction)

IBPA Benjamin Franklin Award Gold  Winner (Fiction: Romance)

IBPA Benjamin Franklin Award Silver Winner (LGBTQ+)

Independent Publisher Book Awards Bronze Winner (Military/Wartime Fiction)

Lambda Literary Award Finalist (Gay Romance) 

New York New Works Theatre Festival Finalist (Play Adaptation)

Two soldiers fall in love on the Western Front in a sprawling tale of courage and the resilience of the human spirit.

Flower of Iowa cover
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page